VASCD is governed by a Board of Directors which includes officers, committee chairs, and an elected representative of each of Virginia’s eight Superintendents’ regions. We constantly strive to expand and diversify leadership, which strengthens our organization. VASCD members from around the Commonwealth serve on committees, host events, write for our publications, present at our conferences, and contribute to our mission a variety of other ways. The Board employs an Executive Director and an Events Coordinator to manage the daily operations of the organization.

Board of Directors Members

Alan Seibert

Superintendent, Salem City Schools
Phone: 540.389.0130

Robin Hoffman

Past President
Instructional Specialist, Virginia Beach City Schools
Phone: 757.648.5140

Pat Griffin

Retired from Virginia Beach City Schools
Phone: 757.353.7760

Jennifer Orr

Teacher, Fairfax County Schools
Phone: 703.455.7382

Tom Debolt

Governance Chair
Retired from Manassas Park
Phone: 703.298.3642

Thomas Taylor

Region 1 Representative
Deputy Superintendent, Chesterfield County Schools
Phone: 804.393.1865

Veleka Gatling

Region 2 Representative
PK-12 Educational Leadership, Old Dominion University
Phone: 757-683-3141

Sarah Calveric

Region 3 Representative
Superintendent, Caroline County Schools
Phone: 804-633-5088

Amy Acors

Region 4 Representative
Director of Instruction, Fauquier County Schools
Phone: 540.422.7018

Forrest Burgdorf

Region 5 Representative
Assistant Director of Secondary Education, Augusta County Schools
Phone: 540-245-5173

Janet Womack

Region 6 Representative
Assistant Superintendent, Botetourt County Schools
Phone: 540.473.8263

Ellen Denny

Region 7 Representative
Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Radford City Schools
Phone: 540.731.3647

Jan Medley

Region 8 Representative
Director of Student Services and Federal Programs, Amelia County Schools
Phone: 804-561-2621

Daniel Smith

Principal, Fairfax County Schools
Phone: 703.426.1000

Joe Douglas

Instructional Specialist, Colonial Heights
Phone: 804-524-3435

Eric Carbaugh

VASCD Journal Editor
Associate Professor, James Madison University
Phone: 540.220.0262

Melissa George

Conference Chair
Principal, Virginia Beach City Schools
Phone: 757.648.5499

Chris Jones

Programs & Services
Principal, Chesterfield County Schools
Phone: 804-768-6245

Julie Myers

Director Middle/Secondary Instruction, Frederick County Schools
Phone: 540.662.3889

Ebbie Linaburg

Awards Chair
Retired from Shenandoah County
Phone: 540-327-0657

Melanie Kay-Wyatt

ASCD Liaison
Director of Human Resources, Spotsylvania County Schools
Phone: 540.834.2500